North America
North America
South America
South America


Administrative divisions (GPS Maps)


People and Society






Part of the Norwegian Kingdom of the Hebrides until the 13th century when it was ceded to Scotland, the isle came under the British crown in 1765. Current concerns include reviving the almost extinct Manx Gaelic language. Isle of Man is a British crown dependency but is not part of the UK or of the European Union. However, the UK Government remains constitutionally responsible for its defense and international representation.


Advertisements Advertisements


Country name
Conventional long form None
Conventional short form Isle of Man
Abbreviation I.O.M.

Dependency status
British crown dependency

Government type
Parliamentary democracy

Name Douglas
Geographic coordinates 54 09 N, 4 29 W
Time difference
UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Daylight saving time
+1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October

Administrative divisions
None; there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 24 local authorities each with its own elections

None (British crown dependency)

Unwritten; note - The Isle of Man Constitution Act of 1961 does not embody the unwritten Manx Constitution

Legal system
The laws of the UK where applicable apply and include Manx statutes

16 years of age; universal

Executive branch
Chief of state
Lord of Mann Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Lieutenant Governor Adam WOOD (since 7 April 2011)
Head of government
Chief Minister Allan BELL (since 11 October 2011)
Cabinet Council of Ministers
The monarchy is hereditary; lieutenant governor appointed by the monarch; the chief minister elected by the Tynwald for a five-year term; election last held on 11 October 2011 (next to be held in December 2016)
Election results
House of Keys speaker Allan BELL elected chief minister by the Tynwald with 27 votes out of 30

Legislative branch
Bicameral Tynwald consists of the Legislative Council (11 seats; members composed of the President of Tynwald, the Lord Bishop of Sodor and Man, a nonvoting attorney general, and 8 others named by the House of Keys) and the House of Keys (24 seats; members elected by popular vote to serve five-year terms)
House of Keys - last held on 29 September 2011 (next to be held in September 2016)
Election results
House of Keys - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - Liberal Vannin Party 3, independents 21

Judicial branch
High Court of Justice (justices are appointed by the Lord Chancellor of England on the nomination of the lieutenant governor)

Political parties and leaders
Alliance for Progressive Government; Liberal Vannin Party [Peter KARRAN]; Manx Labor Party; Manx Nationalist Party (Mec Vannin) [Bernard MOFFATT]
Most members sit as independents

Political pressure groups and leaders
Alliance for Progressive Government or APG (a government watchdog); Mec Vannin (political party advocating a sovereign state and environment policies); note - has only had one member elected to the Tynwald

International organization participation

Diplomatic representation in the us
None (British crown dependency)

Diplomatic representation from the us
None (British crown dependency)

Flag description
Red with the Three Legs of Man emblem (triskelion), in the center; the three legs are joined at the thigh and bent at the knee; in order to have the toes pointing clockwise on both sides of the flag, a two-sided emblem is used; the flag is based on the coat-of-arms of the last recognized Norse King of Mann, Magnus III (r. 1252-1265); the triskelion has its roots in an early Celtic sun symbol

National symbol(s)
Triskelion (a motif of three legs)

National anthem
"Arrane Ashoonagh dy Vannin" (O Land of Our Birth)
William Henry GILL [English], John J. KNEEN [Manx]/traditional
Adopted 2003, in use since 1907; serves as a local anthem; as a British crown dependency, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom) and is played when the sovereign, members of the royal family, or the lieutenant governor are present


--- There are no comments yet ---

Add a new comment:

You have to log in to add a comment!


Avertisments  Advertisement

Members area  Members area



Forgot password?

  Isle Of Man [ United Kingdom ] (British Crown Dependency):

  GPS points from Isle Of Man [ United Kingdom ] (British Crown Dependency)

Saint Ann Head Isle Of Man

Bride Isle Of Man (general)

Spanish Head Isle Of Man

Mount Karrin Isle Of Man

Saint Michael Island Isle Of Man

Derby Haven Isle Of Man

Cronky-y-keillown Isle Of Man

Glen Helen Isle Of Man
Terms of use
Privacy policy

# 0.0187 sec 

contact AT

© 2006 - 2021