North America
North America
South America
South America


Administrative divisions (GPS Maps)


People and Society






Jersey and the other Channel Islands represent the last remnants of the medieval Dukedom of Normandy that held sway in both France and England. These islands were the only British soil occupied by German troops in World War II. Jersey is a British crown dependency but is not part of the UK or of the European Union. However, the UK Government is constitutionally responsible for its defense and international representation.


Advertisements Advertisements


Country name
Conventional long form Bailiwick of Jersey
Conventional short form Jersey

Dependency status
British crown dependency

Government type
Parliamentary democracy

Name Saint Helier
Geographic coordinates 49 11 N, 2 06 W
Time difference
UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
Daylight saving time
+1hr, begins last Sunday in March; ends last Sunday in October

Administrative divisions
None (British crown dependency); there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are 12 parishes: Grouville, Saint Brelade, Saint Clement, Saint Helier, Saint John, Saint Lawrence, Saint Martin, Saint Mary, Saint Ouen, Saint Peter, Saint Saviour, and Trinity

None (British crown dependency)

Unwritten; partly statutes, partly common law and practice

Legal system
The laws of the UK, where applicable, apply; local statutes

16 years of age; universal

Executive branch
Chief of state
Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by Lieutenant Governor Sir John MCCOLL (since 26 September 2011)
Head of government
Chief Minister Ian GORST (18 December 2011); Bailiff Michael BIRT (since 9 July 2009)
Cabinet Cabinet (since December 2005)
Ministers of the Cabinet including the chief minister are elected by the Assembly of States; the monarchy is hereditary; lieutenant governor and bailiff appointed by the monarch

Legislative branch
Unicameral Assembly of the States of Jersey (58 seats; 53 are voting members, of which 12 are senators elected for six-year terms, 12 are constables or heads of parishes elected for three-year terms, 29 are deputies elected for three-year terms; the 5 non-voting members include the bailiff and the deputy bailiff, the Dean of Jersey, the Attorney General, and the Solicitor General appointed by the monarch)
Last held on 27 April 2011 (next to be held in 2014)
Election results
Percent of vote - NA; seats - independents 53; note - starting with the 2014 elections, the number of Senators will be reduced to 8

Judicial branch
Royal Court (judges elected by an electoral college and the bailiff); Court of Appeal of Jersey

Political parties and leaders
Two declared parties: Centre Party; Jersey Democratic Alliance
All senators and deputies elected in 2008 were independents

Political pressure groups and leaders
Institute of Directors, Jersey branch (provides business support); Jersey Hospitality Association [Robert JONES] (trade association); Jersey Rights Association [David ROTHERHAM] (human rights); La Societe Jersiaise (education and conservation group); Progress Jersey [Daren O'TOOLE, Gino RISOLI] (human rights); Royal Jersey Agriculture and Horticultural Society or RJA&HS (development and management of the Jersey breed of cattle); Save Jersey's Heritage (protects heritage through building preservation)

Diplomatic representation in the us
None (British crown dependency)

Diplomatic representation from the us
None (British crown dependency)

Flag description
White with a diagonal red cross extending to the corners of the flag; in the upper quadrant, surmounted by a yellow crown, a red shield with three lions in yellow; according to tradition, the ships of Jersey - in an attempt to differentiate themselves from English ships flying the horizontal cross of St. George - rotated the cross to the "X" (saltire) configuration; because this arrangement still resembled the Irish cross of St. Patrick, the yellow Plantagenet crown and Jersey coat of arms were added

National symbol(s)
Jersey cow

National anthem
"Isle de Siez Nous" (Island Home)
Lyrics/music Gerard LE FEUVRE
Adopted 2008; serves as a local anthem; as a British crown dependency, "God Save the Queen" is official (see United Kingdom)


--- There are no comments yet ---

Add a new comment:

You have to log in to add a comment!


Avertisments  Advertisement

Members area  Members area



Forgot password?

  Jersey [ United Kingdom ] (British Crown Dependency):

  GPS points from Jersey [ United Kingdom ] (British Crown Dependency)

Le Graveur Jersey (general)

East Pier Jersey (general)

Brayes Rocks Jersey (general)

Ville Es Nouaux Jersey (general)

Fiquet Bay Jersey (general)

Val Des Vaux Jersey (general)

Fort Henry Jersey (general)

Rousse Jersey (general)
Terms of use
Privacy policy

# 0.0186 sec 

contact AT

© 2006 - 2021